Bear – Third Grade

Third graders work toward the Bear rank. The Bear rank is earned by completing the four requirements as described below. 

Bear Rank

Cub Scouts who are in first grade or above must first earn the Bobcat Badge – if it has not already been previously earned – before working on the requirements for their badge of rank. The requirements for the Bobcat Badge that the Scout must complete are the following:

  1. Learn and say the Scout Oath, with help if needed.
  2. Learn and say the Scout Law, with help if needed.
  3. Show the Cub Scout sign. Tell what it means.
  4. Show the Cub Scout handshake. Tell what it means.
  5. Say the Cub Scout motto. Tell what it means.
  6. Show the Cub Scout salute. Tell what it means.
  7. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide pamphlet.
Bobcat Badge


Cub Scout Short Sleeve Uniform Shirt, Youth

Bear Scouts wear the official blue Cub Scout Uniform Shirt, Youth. Please refer to the Uniform FAQ for additional information.


Bear Cub Scout Handbook

The Bear Cub Scout Handbook is the guide to the Bear Scout program and where you can find everything you need to complete requirements.

Bear Rank Requirements

3. Complete the How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse activities

4. Complete a Protect Yourself Rules activity

Den 15 (boys)

Den 10 (girls)