Arrow of Light – Fifth Grade

Fifth graders work toward the Arrow of Light rank. If a fourth-grade Cub Scout has completed the Webelos rank, they may begin work on the Arrow of Light. The Arrow of Light rank is earned by completing the five requirements described below.  

Arrow Of Light Rank

Note: New Cub Scouts who are in first grade or above earn the Bobcat Badge first before working on the requirements for their badge of rank mentioned above. The requirements for the Bobcat Badge that the Scout must complete are the following:

  1. Learn and say the Scout Oath, with help if needed.
  2. Learn and say the Scout Law, with help if needed.
  3. Show the Cub Scout sign. Tell what it means.
  4. Show the Cub Scout handshake. Tell what it means.
  5. Say the Cub Scout motto. Tell what it means.
  6. Show the Cub Scout salute. Tell what it means.
  7. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide pamphlet.
Bobcat Badge


Scout BSA Uniform Shirt

Arrow of Light Scouts wear the official tan Scout BSA Uniform Shirt, Youth. Please refer to the Uniform FAQ for additional information.


Webelos Cub Scout Handbook

The Webelos Cub Scout Handbook is the guide to the Bear Scout program and where you can find everything you need to complete requirements.

Arrow of Light Rank Requirements

1. Be an active member of your Webelos den

Scout must be active in the Webelos/Arrow of Light den for at least six months since completing the fourth grade or for at least six months since becoming 10 years old.

4. Complete the How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse activities

5. Complete a Protect Yourself Rules activity


Den 9 (boys)

Den 10 (girls)