The Advancement Trail

On The Advancement Trail, a Cub Scout progresses towards a badge of rank based on their grade. They need not have earned the previous rank in order to earn the next. Each of the ranks in Cub Scouting has its own requirements that are age appropriate, so earning a rank below a Cub Scout’s current grade is not permitted. As a Cub Scout advances through the ranks, the requirements get more challenging, to match the new skills and abilities they have learned.

Lion – Kindergarten

Lion Rank Color Logo

Tiger – First Grade

Tiger Rank

Wolf – Second Grade

Wolf Rank

Bear – Third Grade

Bear Rank

Webelos – Fourth Grade

Webelos Rank

Arrow of Light – Fifth Grade

Arrow Of Light Rank

Rank Requirements

  • The Bobcat adventure is designed to be the adventure that should be completed first.
  • Each badge of rank is earned by completing six required adventures and at least two elective adventures; there are no other requirements (e.g., YPT-related items are now part of required adventures).
  • The six required adventures are based on the aims and methods of Scouting (Character, Leadership, Personal Fitness, and Citizenship) and the focus areas of the BSA (Outdoors, Personal Safety, Family, and Reverence).

Activities and Skills

Age and rank appropriate guidelines have been developed based on many factors. Below are the Age Appropriate Guidelines For Scouting Activities based on rank/grade:

    Age Appropriate Guidelines For Scouting Activities
    Age Appropriate Guidelines For Scouting Activities