Cub Scouts is a program of Scouting America, previously known as the Boy Scouts of America (BSA), and focuses on children (both girls and boys) in kindergarten through fifth grades, or ages five through eleven. The program is carried out entirely by volunteers. The caring adult(s) in each child’s family will contribute greatly to the experience that children have in Scouting.

Youth are split into grade-level groups called Dens and they work toward rank advancements together. Each grade level has a different rank and youth can join Cub Scouts at any time without having to earn previous ranks. Learn more about the ranks by clicking on the appropriate grade level button below:

Once a month all Dens come together to meet as a Pack, giving them a chance to get to know other Cub Scouts and share smiles and skills.

Adult leaders, with the help of parents/guardians, make sure that the Cub Scouts are learning, growing, and having fun.


The vision of the BSA is to prepare every eligible youth in America to become a responsible, participating citizen and leader who is guided by the Scout Oath and Scout Law.


The BSA seeks to accomplish its vision through the following mission: The mission is the BSA is to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Scout Law.


The BSA delivers an educational program for you that achieves the following three aims: To build character, To develop a responsible, participating citizen, and To build a leader who is guided by the Scout Oath and Scout Law.


To accomplish its purpose and achieve the overall goals, Cub Scouting uses seven methods: living the ideals, belonging to a Den, advancement, family involvement, activities, serving the community, and wearing the uniform.

The methods bring Cub Scouting to life for families.

Grade Level Program and Advancement

Cub Scout Ranks

Cub Scout activities are centered around earning badges that are specific to each grade level. Cub Scouts earn adventures that are specific to their grade and rank. A number of adventures must be completed to earn the badge of rank for each grade level. Adventures may be earned in any order. Completion of adventures is how the aims of Cub Scouting are developed.

As Scouts continue their journey through Cubs, they will take on more personal responsibility and enjoy new challenges that help them grow. They will advance through different ranks, take part in exciting camping adventures, and help the community through service projects.

Purposes of Cub Scouting

Cub Scouting is designed to be fun with a purpose, helping Scouts learn valuable, age-appropriate skills and values. There are 10 different areas Cub Scouts learn about, including:

  • Character Development
  • Spiritual Growth
  • Good Citizenship
  • Sportsmanship and Fitness
  • Family Understanding
  • Respectful Relationships
  • Personal Achievement
  • Friendly Service
  • Fun and Adventure
  • Preparation for Scouts BSA

Why Join Cub Scouts?

When you sign your child up for Cub Scouts, they’ll benefit from these three key character-building attributes:

  • Goal Orientation – Scouting provides a clear path for kids to succeed at making and achieving tough goals. Whether working toward achieving a new Scouting rank or striving to gain a new skill, Scouts are constantly working toward reaching measurable goals. Not only do these achievements follow a Scout throughout life, but habits are established of setting and striving for personal, academic, and professional goals as an adult.
  • Leadership – Scouting provides consistent opportunities for Scouts to learn and practice leadership skills. Leading projects and peers is the norm for kids in the program. As Scouts mature in rank, their leadership abilities continue to grow and they’re offered even more opportunities to lead. This helps kids develop into adults who standout as leaders in their workplaces and communities.
  • Preparedness – Scouting builds life skills (like learning to conquer hard tasks) by facing challenges head-on. The program is structured so that what once seemed impossible to a Scout becomes attainable, a positive cycle that prepares youth for the undoubted challenges they will meet in life.

Scout Oath

On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.

Scout Law

A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent.

Cub Scout Motto

Do Your Best!

Do Your Best!